In CT, sexual assault includes various sexual offenses ranging from harassment to rape. It can be charged as a first, second, third, or fourth degree crime, and the penalties can be extremely serious. If you're facing a sexual assault charge in CT, I can help you defend the charges – but in the meantime, here's a look at the punishment for sexual assault.
What Is the Punishment for Sexual Assault?
The punishment for sexual assault depends on the degree of the charge.
First Degree Sexual Assault
As the most serious degree of sexual assault, 1st degree sexual assault is a Class A or B felony.
- Class A felony: up to 25 years' imprisonment and up to $20,000 in fines
- Class B felony: maximum of 40 years' imprisonment, up to $15,000 in fines
For repeat offenders or aggravated 1st degree sexual assault, the penalties are higher.
Second Degree Sexual Assault
A 2nd degree sexual assault charge can be a Class B or C felony.
- Class B felony: up to $15,000 in fines, a maximum of 40 years in prison
- Class C felony: up to 10 years' imprisonment, up to $10,000 in monetary fines
Third Degree Sexual Assault
3rd degree sexual assault is a Class C or D felony.
- Class C felony: fine not exceeding $10,000 and up to 10 years' imprisonment
- Class D felony: up to five years' imprisonment and a fine no more than $5,000
Fourth Degree Sexual Assault
4th degree sexual assault may be charged as a Class D felony or Class A misdemeanor.
- Class D felony: up to five years in prison and a fine up to $5,000
- Class A misdemeanor: up to one year in prison and a fine not exceeding $2,000
Can a Sex Offender Have a Normal Life?
Sex crime punishments go beyond monetary fines and jail time.
- Your conviction will go on your criminal record and stay there for at least a few years.
- A sex crime on your record could make it harder for you to get a job or pursue educational opportunities.
- Your personal relationships may be affected by a sexual assault conviction.
How Do You Beat a Sex Crime Charge?
The prosecution must prove the case “beyond a reasonable doubt”. This is a high standard of proof and there may be various defenses available to you, including:
- insufficient evidence the alleged assault took place;
- reasonable belief the individual consented to sexual activity; or
- lack of evidence proving you were the perpetrator.
After carefully evaluating your case, I can determine how best to defend the charges.
Hire a Sexual Assault Defense Attorney in Connecticut
To protect your legal rights and ensure you have a fair trial, you need a criminal defense attorney on your side. As an experienced sexual assault lawyer, I will do everything possible to help you avoid a conviction which could jeopardize your future.
In need of a sexual assault defense attorney in Connecticut? Contact me and see how we can help today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment