Over a third of traffic deaths in Connecticut involved drivers operating a vehicle while intoxicated, according to statistics from the Connecticut Health I-Team. Drunk driving is not only potentially deadly, it can also be very expensive – in terms of jail time and money – even if you get lucky and avoid a crash.
THE COST OF AN UBER VS THE COST OF A DUI
TYPICAL COST OF AN UBER RIDE FROM A BAR OR PARTY
$6.10 TYPICAL UBER RIDE FROM DOWNTOWN NEW HAVEN
$6.90 TYPICAL UBER RIDE FROM DOWNTOWN HARTFORD:
$8.30 TYPICAL UBER RIDE FROM DOWNTOWN ENFIELD:
TYPICAL COST OF A DUI TICKET
THE MINIMUM CONNECTICUT DUI TICKET COST IS $500
THE MAXIMUM CONNECTICUT DUI TICKET COST IS $8,000
ALREADY ONE OF THE HIGHEST RATES IN THE COUNTRY, CONNECTICUT CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS CAN INCREASE BY AS MUCH AS 100% AFTER A DUI CONVICTION.
VOLUNTEER COMMUNITY SERVICE AND AN IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE MAY ALSO BE REQUIRED UPON CONVICTION.
- PUNISHMENTS VARY DEPENDING ON PREVIOUS CONVICTIONS.
- FIRST OFFENDERS DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) MAY FACE 48 HOURS TO 6 MONTHS WORTH OF JAIL TIME.
- JAIL TIME FOR A 2ND CONVICTION OF OUI IS 120 DAYS MINIMUM TO 2 YEARS MAXIMUM.
- JAIL TIME FOR A 3RD CONVICTION OF OUI IS 1 YEAR MINIMUM TO 3 YEARS MAXIMUM.
If you think you can't afford to take an Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare service after drinking, weigh the costs against the penalties for driving while intoxicated in Connecticut.