© 2014 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Connecticut Harassment / Stalking Charges
Harassment and stalking are both very serious offenses in the state of Connecticut. If you are charged with either you may be facing serious jail time and fines. I know you are very concerned about what may happen.
Whatever happened, there is a good chance that you had or have a relationship with the alleged victim that somehow went wrong. Whether he or she was a friend or someone you dated, we know that those kinds of relationships make these cases even more stressful than others.
This kind of case can be emotionally difficult in addition to the serious legal consequences. Please contact me for a consultation on what I can do to help fix this problem and put your mind at ease.
Connecticut Stalking Laws
Stalking 3rd Degree – Penalties
3rd degree stalking is defined by Connecticut statutes as recklessly causing another person to reasonably fear for their physical safety by willfully andrepeatedly following or lying in wait for them.
If you are facing this Class B misdemeanor charge you could be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Re:. Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-181e
Stalking 2nd Degree – Penalties
You may be charged with 2nd degree stalking if you willfully and repeatedly follow or lie in wait for another person, causing them to reasonably fear for their safety and you do so with the intent to cause them fear.
2nd Degree stalking is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and $2,000 in fines.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-181d
Stalking 1st Degree – Penalties
First degree stalking is the most serious of stalking charges and can be committed in a few different ways. You may be charged with this Class D felony if you commit stalking as described above and any one of the following are true:
- The alleged victim is under 16 years old
- You have previously been convicted of stalking, or
- The stalking is in violation of a court order (restraining order, for instance)
1st Degree stalking is punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-181c
Connecticut Harassment Laws
Harassment 2nd Degree – Penalties
2nd Degree harassment can be committed in one of three ways:
- Using the telephone to address another person in indecent or obscene language,
- Communicating with another person by email, fax, letter, etc in a manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm and with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm, or
- Contacting another by phone with the intent to harass, annoy, or alarm, whether or not a conversation occurs.
If you are found guilty of this Class C misdemeanor, you will be facing up to 3 months in jail and $500 in fines.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-183
Harassment 1st Degree – Penalties
More serious than 2nd degree harassment, harassment in the 1st degree is committed when you threaten to kill or injure a person and communicate that threat via telephone, mail, email, or other communication and you have previously been convicted of a serious felony.
A First degree harassment offense is a Class D felony and is punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines if you are convicted.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-182b
With any harassment and stalking charge it is likely the judge will order a psychiatric evaluation. If this is your first offense and you are charged with one of the less serious offenses, I may be able to help you serve probation or another reasonable alternative to the more serious penalties.
Free Legal Consultation on a Harrassment or Stalking Charge in Connecticut
No matter your charge, however, I will do my very best to ensure you get the best possible outcome on your day in court. Call for a consultation on your stalking or harassment case today.
So call me now at (203) 418-8553 or contact me for your criminal defense consultation and case evaluation.