© 2017 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Connecticut Criminal Laws & Penalties
If you’ve been arrested or charged with a crime in Connecticut, it makes sense to evaluate all of your defense options under the law, even if you think you may be guilty. There are always defenses, and any case can be won. But if you do decide you want to plead guilty, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t get the best and fairest deal possible.
Please contact me today to consult with an experienced Connecticut criminal defense lawyer before making any statements to the prosecution, or making any deal. If you don’t, you’ll never know if you got a fair offer, or if your case really should have been dismissed on legal, constitutional, or procedural grounds. And once you make a deal, that’s it, it’s over. You can’t go back if you decide you didn’t make the right decision.
Call me now for a no obligation case review and criminal legal consultation, on any Connecticut charge at (203) 418-8553.
I Fight Connecticut Criminal Charges
Any Connecticut criminal charge can be serious. Felony offenses frequently have mandatory jail time attached if you are convicted. Even Misdemeanor offenses can carry jail time, driver’s license suspensions, and can will have other costly and difficult restrictions on your life and your future.
I have successfully represented people facing a wide variety of criminal charges. Some of the charges I defend include:
- Drug Possession Charges: possession of marijuana, heroin, cocaine, meth, amphetamines, ecstasy/MMDA, GHB, LSD, mushrooms, prescription drugs, steroids, and any other narcotic or controlled substance.
- Serious Drug Offenses: Distribution, sale, manufacture, cultivation, trafficking, and school zone violations.
- Traffic Crimes: DUI, Suspended license violations, moving violations,careless/reckless driving, leaving the scene of property damage or injury, operating without insurance
- Violent Crimes: Assault, Murder, Manslaughter
- Sexual Crimes: Rape, Statutory Rape, Sexual Assault, Child sex crimes and abuse
- Property Crimes: Theft, Shoplifting, Larceny, Criminal Mischief, Arson, Burglary
- Family Crimes: Domestic Violence, domestic abuse, restraining order and protective order violations
- White Collar Crimes: Embezzlement, Bad checks, Credit Card Theft, Computer Crimes, Fraud, Conspiracy, Identity Theft
- Weapons Charges: Illegal Possession of a Weapon, Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm, Commission of a Felony with a Gun
- Juvenile Crimes: Any crime committed by a minor is handled in juvenile court, where the rules of criminal procedure can be quite different.
- And more: breach of peace, disorderly conduct, harassment, stalking, threatening, trespass, outstanding warrants (failure to appear in court) and many other offenses that are considered criminal charges under Connecticut laws.
Penalties for Criminal Charges in CT
Felony charges are those that have a minimum jail sentence if found guilty, typically a year or more.
|Capital Felony||Specific types of Murder||Execution, or life in prison||N/A|
|Class A Felony (Murder)||Murder||25 to 60 years in prison||Up to $20,000|
|Class A Felony||Aggravated Sexual Assault under 16, Sexual Assault w/younger victims, Kidnapping 1st degree, Arson 1st degree||10 to 25 years in prison||Up to $20,000|
|Class B Felony||Manslaughter 1st degree, Assault 1st degree, Sexual Assault, Larceny 1st degree||1 to 20 years in prison||Up to $15,000|
|Class C Felony||Manslaughter 2nd degree, Sexual Assault 2nd degree, Robbery 2nd degree, Arson 3rd degree||1 to 10 years in prison||Up to $10,000|
|Class D Felony||Assault 2nd degree, Sexual Assault 3rd degree, Criminal Mischief 1st degree, Stalking 1st degree||1 to 5 years in prison||Up to $5,000|
Under Connecticut law, Misdemeanor charges are less serious than felonies, and have a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail.
|Class A Misdemeanor||Assault 3rd degree, Threatening 2nd degree, Sexual Assault 4th Degree, Criminal Trespass 1st degree, Larceny 4th degree, Violation of a protective order||Up to 1 year in jail||Up to $2,000|
|Class B Misdemeanor||Criminal Mischief 3rd degree, Stalking 3rd degree, Breach of Peace||Up to 6 months in jail||Up to $1,000|
|Class C Misdemeanor||Criminal Mischief 4th degree, Disorderly Conduct, Larceny 6th degree||Up to 3 months in jail||Up to $500|
Violations and Infractions
Violations and Infractions are not crimes, they are civil penalties, so they do not give you a criminal record. A violation is punishable by a maximum fine of $500, and some specific violations have lesser maximum fines.
An infraction has a fine of up to $90, plus additional fees and surcharges that may go as high as $300.
Typical violations and infraction are motor vehicle offenses such as traffic tickets, speeding tickets, possession of alcohol by a minor, and various city ordinances.
You do not need to make a court appearance for either a violation or an infraction. You can choose to pay your fine by mail.
Additional Penalties and Collateral Consequences
Many professional licensing boards have standards that prohibit anyone with a criminal record from being admitted or certified.
And now that all criminal convictions in Connecticut are posted online publicly, your criminal record could easily become a scarlet letter that haunts you forever.
Please call me for a consultation or contact me. I will fight for you and look for every opportunity to avoid sticking you with this permanent criminal record.
Call (203) 418-8553 for your case evaluation. It is free, confidential, and there is no further obligation.
You will always speak with me, Erin Field, the attorney.