The Stakes Are High

Being accused of shoplifting can make the future uncertain.  There’s no room for error.  To avoid hefty fines and jail time, it’s important to have a strong lawyer to guide you through the Connecticut court system. 

Erin Field will give you a plan to take back your life.

1. CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

Get Your Plan

2. GET YOUR PLAN

Get Your Life Back In Control

3. GET YOUR LIFE BACK IN CONTROL

7 Mistakes That Could Ruin Your Criminal Defense Case

7 Mistakes That Could Ruin Your Criminal Defense Case

Connecticut Shoplifting Attorney

Shopping/Retail Theft Defense

Have you been charged with shoplifting? Most people charged with larceny are honestly embarrassed, and can’t believe they made such a mistake. But don’t beat yourself up. A bad decision in a desperate moment doesn’t mean you should suffer a terrible penalty. As an experienced Connecticut shoplifting attorney, I can fix these cases with fairly minimal penalties, and you can move on from the incident quickly.

Larceny Charges in Connecticut

Under Connecticut criminal laws, larceny is a charge that includes any kind of theft such as shoplifting, receiving stolen property, or auto theft. It also includes embezzlement, false pretenses, and theft by fraud. If you are accused of a felony larceny or grand larceny charge, you need to be concerned about the serious consequences a felony conviction can have, including possible jail time. For lesser larceny charges, you still need to consider the impact of a criminal record and how you might get your charges dismissed. If you are facing a shoplifting, larceny, or related charge, consult with an experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney to find out what your options are when it comes to defending your rights and minimizing or eliminating the consequences of a criminal conviction.

Defining Larceny

To commit larceny is to steal items of value. The act of larceny is defined under Connecticut Penal Law as “intent to deprive another of property or to … wrongfully take, obtain or withhold such property from an owner.” It could be a shoplifting offense, embezzlement, or even theft of utilities like electricity or cable TV.

Larceny/Shoplifting Penalties

Larceny penalties are based on the value of the items involved, as illustrated in the chart below:

Degree Value of Items Penalty Classification
First Degree Larceny (Grand Larceny) (CSG 53a-122) Over $10,000
  • Up to 20 years in Prison
  • Fines up to $15,000
Class B Felony
Second (2nd) Degree Larceny (CSG 53a-123) $5001-$10,000
  • Up to 10 years in Prison
  • Fines up to $10,000
Class C Felony
Third (3rd) Degree Larceny (CSG 53a-124) $1001-$5000
  • Up to 5 years in Prison
  • Fines up to $5,000
Class D Felony
Fourth (4th) Degree Larceny (CSG 53a-125) $501-$1000
  • Up to 1 year in Jail
  • Fines up to $2,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Fifth (5th) Degree Larceny (CSG 53a-125a) $250-$500
  • Up to 6 months in Jail
  • Fines up to $1,000
Class B Misdemeanor
Sixth (6th) Degree Larceny (CSG 53a-125b) $250 or Less
  • Up to 3 months in Jail
  • Fines up to $500
Class C Misdemeanor

 

Here is what constitutes as shoplifting:

  • Taking merchandise from an establishment
  • Hiding merchandise with the intent to take it from the establishment
  • Changing or taking off the price tag of merchandise to take from an establishment
  • Putting merchandise in a container that manipulates the price
  • Using fake coupons or vouchers to deprive the establishment of profit and goods

Civil Penalties for Shoplifting in Connecticut

The store or establishment that you have shoplifted from may be able to bring a civil suit against you, as well as a criminal case. You may find that a civil suit tends to be worse than criminal charges in the sense that it is embarrassing. You may have to pay punitive damages and the cost of the value of merchandise you stole from the establishment. You may additionally have to pay for their lawyer fees. If you do not pay these fees, you may have a large hit on your credit score.

How to Beat a Connecticut Shoplifting or Larceny Charge in Connecticut

For a first offense larceny or shoplifting charge, especially for juvenile charges, it is often possible to get the charge dropped in exchange for restitution and community service, which would prevent you from having a criminal record. I will also argue for Accelerated Rehabilitation, which will allow you to be put on probation and have the charges dropped from your record after 13 months, if you don’t commit any additional offenses. With more serious felony charges, I can dispute the severity of the case and the value of the items stolen, and argue that they should be reduced to a point where the penalties are less severe. Whatever the situation in your exact case, having an experienced attorney fighting for you can make a huge difference in the outcome, whether you are working for the best possible plea deal or taking your case all the way to a jury trial. Call me to find out how I can help you get through this problem and get on with your life.

Please Call Connecticut Shoplifting Attorney Erin Field Today

If you have been charged with shoplifting in Connecticut, you should call me as soon as possible. The sooner I get to working on your case, the better. Your case is important to me and I am here to help guide you through every step of this legal process to fight your shoplifting charges and protect your rights. I am eager to take your call and set up a free consultation with you. Let me be your Connecticut shoplifting attorney.

Connecticut Shoplifting Statutes

CrimeStatuteClassification (Penalty)
CrimeStatuteClassification (Penalty)
ShopliftingCGS § Sec. 53a-119a
Possession of a Shoplifting DeviceCGS § Sec. 53a-127f
Class A misdemeanor (up to 1 year)
Burglary in the First DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-101
Class B felony (1 to 20 years)
Burglary in the Second Degree - Class C felonyCGS § Sec. 53a-102
Class C felony (1 to 10 years)
Burglary in the Third DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-103
Class D felony (1 to 5 years)
Larceny in the First DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-122
Class B felony (1 to 20 years)
Larceny in the Second DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-123
Class C felony (1 to 10 years)
Larceny in the Third DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-124
Class D felony (1 to 5 years)
Larceny in the Fourth DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-125
Class A misdemeanor (up to 1 year)
Larceny in the Fifth DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-125a
Class B misdemeanor (up to 6 months)
Larceny in the Sixth DegreeCGS § Sec. 53a-125b
Class C misdemeanor (up to 3 months)