7 Mistakes That Could Ruin Your Criminal Defense Case
Get our FREE guide and start learning how to protect your freedom with Attorney Erin Field.
Being charged with DUI can make the future uncertain. There’s no room for error. To avoid hefty fines and jail time, it’s important to have a strong lawyer to guide you through the Connecticut court system.
Erin Field will give you a plan to take back your life.
No one ever expects to be pulled over and arrested for drunk driving. It is a shocking and unpleasant experience. Once it has happened, however, you have to deal with it. It would be wise to hire a Connecticut DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Connecticut, you need to act quickly to preserve your driver’s license. If you’ve been charged with DUI in Connecticut, the law allows only 7 days for a Connecticut DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Connecticut DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to help save your driver’s license.
After reading a little bit about the process of a DUI, please call my office as soon as possible to set up a free consultation. I am an experienced Connecticut DUI Lawyer who wants to help you get back to your life.
If you drive a vehicle at any given time in Connecticut, you are giving your implied consent to be tested for your breath, urine, or blood. This testing will determine what your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is. If you do not comply, you are breaking the law and will face penalties, as it is state law.
It is honestly most likely a better choice to take these tests, be at or above the legal limit, and then have a Connecticut DUI lawyer refute the charge and lower your penalties than to have a refusal on your record and potentially additional charges.
The legal limit is varied between age groups and types of drivers on the road in Connecticut. The following is the legal blood alcohol content limit or BAC limit for drivers in Connecticut:
|Drivers Under 21 Years of Age||0.02%|
The penalties you are going to be facing after being charged with a DUI in Connecticut will vary from case to case. If you have received a prior DUI conviction, that will affect the severity of your penalties. However, because Connecticut is a state that allows for a washout or look back period, If you were convicted with a DUI more than ten years ago, and you were recently charged with DUI, the penalties will be the same as a first offender DUI in Connecticut.
If you are a first time offender who has been charged with a DUI, you may be able to apply to get admission to a Pretrial Alcohol Education Program. You can do this under a state oath that says you have not been a part of this program in the last ten years. This means that anyone with a prior conviction who opted into the program cannot do it again within a ten-year period. If you complete the program satisfactorily, then you can have your DUI charges dismissed.
As there are varying levels of BAC, likewise there are varying levels of a DUI charge. This table details the difference in penalties between a first through third and subsequent DUI charge.
|Type of Charge||Fines||Imprisonment||Driver’s License Suspension||Ignition Interlock||Probation|
|1st Offense DUI||Misdemeanor||$500-$1,000||Up to 6 months or 100 hours of community services||45 days||1 year upon license reinstatement||None|
|2nd Offense DUI||Misdemeanor||$1,000-$4,000||Up to 2 years with 120 days minimum mandatory||45 days||3 years upon license reinstatement (2 years for drivers under 21)||Probation with mandatory 100 hours community service|
|3rd (or Subsequent) Offense DUI||Misdemeanor||$2,000-$8,000||Up to 3 years and 1 year minimum||Permanent revocation of driver’s license||If license reinstated, permanent ignition interlock||Probation with mandatory 100 hours community service|
For any DUI charge, regardless of how many times you have been charged, you are going to have to complete a DMV-approved program for treating substance abuse if you want a shot at getting your driver’s license reinstated. It is also likely you will have to participate in a victim impact panel program. These penalties are designed to be undesirable and embarrassing to deter people from every drinking and driving again. You may feel incredibly overwhelmed at the prospect, but our Connecticut DUI lawyer is here for you and knows how to navigate these cases to reduce your penalties.
Please get in contact with me, I am an experienced Connecticut DUI lawyer. Lets go over the details of your case and determine the next step in preserving your driver’s license. Take advantage of a free case evaluation from an experienced Connecticut DUI attorney. I want to protect your rights and safeguard your future.
|Operation of a Vehicle while Intoxicated||CGS § Sec. 14-227a|
|Operation of a Vehicle by a Minor while Exceeding .02 BAC||CGS § Sec. 14-227g|
|Impoundment of Motor Vehicle||CGS § Sec. 14-227h|
|Avoidance of or Tampering with Ignition Interlock Device||CGS § Sec. 14-227k||Class C misdemeanor (up to 3 months)|
|Operation of a Vehicle while Intoxicated with Child Passenger||CGS § Sec. 14-227m|
|Operation of a School Bus while Under the Influence||CGS § Sec. 14-227n|
|Misconduct with a Motor Vehicle||CGS § Sec. 53a-57||Class D felony (1 to 5 years)|