© 2017 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Connecticut Weapons Charges – Laws & Penalties
Facing weapons charges in Connecticut is a serious matter. Chances are, you know this and are nervous about what your outcome will be in court and what kind of penalties you will face if convicted. Having an experienced attorney representing you, and only on your side is a real benefit to you and in court.
I am a proud gun owner and I am always happy to represent clients accused of gun charges.
The majority of weapons offenses are serious felonies in Connecticut. This means you may be looking at hefty fines and lengthy prison terms if convicted. I know that being confident in your choice of attorneys is important when entering a situation like this.
Perhaps you are charged with being in possession of a weapon that you didn’t even realize was in the vehicle. Or maybe you made a mistake you are ready to take responsibility for. Regardless of the situation, I can help.
I know what you are up against and know how to best represent your interests. Although I have handled several weapons cases before I will treat your case as an individual case and give you the respect you deserve.
Call me for a consultation on your criminal weapons charges today.
Carrying of Dangerous Weapons
There are certain weapons that it is illegal to carry. Those include any BB gun, metal knuckles, switch blade, or knife with a blade greater than 4 inches, police baton, martial arts weapon, or electronic defense weapon.
Being caught carrying any of these dangerous weapons on your person can land you up to 3 years in prison and fines up to $500 as well as a felony conviction on your record.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53-206
Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm
You may be charged with this felony if you intentionally, negligently, or carelessly discharge a firearm in a way likely to cause bodily injury to someone, or the destruction of property. This charge carries a potential sentence of up to 3 years in prison and fines of $250.
Ref: Conn. Gen Stat. §53-203
Carrying a Firearm While Under the Influence of Liquor or Drugs
If you have been drinking you cannot carry a loaded firearm or hunt. If your charge involves simply carrying the weapon you will face Class B misdemeanorcharges and a potential of up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
However, if you are found to be hunting while under the influence the charge is elevated to a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 1 year in prison and fines reaching $2,000.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53-206d
Commission of a Felony While in Possession of a Firearm or Assault Weapon
If you are in possession of a firearm when you commit Class A, B, or C felony you will serve an additional 5 years in prison. This means that whatever sentence you receive for the felony (theft, robbery, etc) an additional non-suspendablesentence of 5 years will be added.
If the weapon is an assault weapon, the additional prison term will be 8 years rather than 5.
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §53-202j,k
There are many laws governing the use and possession of weapons in Connecticut. When you are facing weapons charges, the smartest thing you can do is contact an experienced attorney right away. Call us to discuss your weapons charges today.
Please call me and tell me the specifics of your case, and I’ll lay out the best defense options for your particular charges and circumstances.