© 2017 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Charged With Driving on a Suspended License in Connecticut?
Get Help with Connecticut Suspended License Laws & Penalties
If your Connecticut driver’s license was suspended, no doubt you were inconvenienced in ways you didn’t anticipate. And a criminal charge for driving on a suspended license has made your life even more difficult and stressful. But I can help. Call me to discuss your suspended license case today, for some advice from a lawyer experienced in dealing with suspended license issues.
Whatever happened that brought this about, I will protect your rights in court, and fight to work out an arrangement that you can live with. Perhaps an emergency came up and you didn’t have alternative transportation. Maybe you had to be somewhere and thought you could get away with driving, just this once. Whatever the case, I am here to help.
Or you may not have even known your license was under suspension. This can happen for a variety of reasons, including moving, or a mistake by the DMV in notifying you of the suspension. If it wasn’t your fault, we can absolutely challenge the court and fight to get your case dismissed.
I have handled many cases like this and probably one very similar to yours. I am an experienced defense lawyer prepared fighting on your behalf in the Connecticut criminal courts.
When it feels like no one is interested in your side of the story, you can rest assured that I am.
And you will know that within the first 5 minutes of talking to me.
Driving on a Suspended License Laws in Connecticut
There are many reasons your license may have been originally suspended. Perhaps you have a DUI on your record or accumulated too many points. You may have been charged with reckless driving in the past or maybe this isn’t your first driving on a suspended license charge.
However, if you are caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you will face additional criminal charges. The penalty you face depends on if you’ve faced this charge before. And if you are on probation from a criminal charge that led to the suspension, you could face a probation violation problem as well. That is something we’ll need to discuss and deal with.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
The likely penalties for this charge vary very much depending on the circumstances, and any previous criminal charges. I can discuss realistic penalties with you after discussing your situation. But people do get jail time for a suspended license charge.
|First Offense||Up to 90 days in jail and fines of $150-200.|
|Second Offense||Up to 1 year in jail and fines of $200-600.|
Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-215
In addition to possible jail time and fines, the judge can increase the suspension of your license.
Are there Defenses?
Yes, there are legitimate defense strategies based on the reasons for the stop, as well as the possibility that your license should not have been suspended in the first place, and DMV errors.
Even if you weren’t aware that your license had been suspended, you can still be charged. In most cases, you are notified by the court when your license has been suspended, but ignorance of the suspension does not get you off the hook. If the court believes you were legitimately notified, and should have known about the suspension, you could be convicted.
Get a Free Connecticut Legal Consultation on Criminal Suspended License Charges
When your license was originally suspended, life went on. Your responsibilities in the world and day to day living did not adjust to fit your suspension. It was you that had to make accommodations or other arrangements to fit the suspension. Sometimes those other arrangements fall through. I understand that you still have to function, go to work, drop off kids, get groceries, even after a suspended license, and that can be tough.
If you knew your license was suspended, and made a mistake thinking you wouldn’t get caught, that is understandable. But I need to hear about the specifics of your case and want to help you work this out, and get the best possible outcome for you.
Please call for a consultation on your driving on a suspended license case today.
For a free consultation on Connecticut criminal traffic laws, and any other criminal charges, and penalties, call me at (203) 418-8553.