© 2014 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Connecticut Larceny/Shoplifting Laws & Penalties
Most people charged with larceny are honestly embarrassed, and can’t believe they made such a mistake.
But don’t beat yourself up. A bad decision in a desperate moment doesn’t mean you should suffer a terrible penalty. Often we can fix these cases with fairly minimal penalties, and you can move on from this incident quickly.
Under Connecticut Criminal Laws, larceny is a charge that includes any kind of theft like shoplifting, receiving stolen property, or auto theft. It also includes embezzlement, false pretenses, and theft by fraud.
If you are accused of a felony larceny or grand larceny charge, you need to be concerned with the serious consequences a felony conviction can have, including possible jail time. For lesser larceny charges, you still need to consider the impact of a criminal record, and how you may be able to get your charges dismissed.
If you are facing a shoplifting, larceny, or related charge, consult with an experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney to find out what your options are in defending your rights and minimizing or eliminating the consequences of a criminal conviction.
What is Larceny?
To commit larceny is to steal items of value. The act of larceny is defined under Connecticut Penal Law as “intent to deprive another of property or to … wrongfully take, obtain or withhold such property from an owner.”
It could be a shoplifting offense, embezzlement, or even theft of utilities like electricity or cable TV.
Larceny penalties are based on the value of the items involved.
|Degree||Value of Items||Penalty||Classification|
|First Degree Larceny (Grand Larceny)||Over $10,000||
||Class B Felony|
|Second (2nd) Degree Larceny||$5001-$10,000||
||Class C Felony|
|Third (3rd) Degree Larceny||$1001-$5000||
||Class D Felony|
|Fourth (4th) Degree Larceny||$501-$1000||
||Class A Misdemeanor|
|Fifth (5th) Degree Larceny||$250-$500||
||Class B Misdemeanor|
|Sixth (6th) Degree Larceny||$250 or Less||
||Class C Misdemeanor|
How to Beat a CT Shoplifting or Larceny Charge
For a first offense larceny or shoplifting charge, it is often possible to get the charge dropped in exchange for restitution and community service, which would prevent you from having a criminal record.
I will also argue for Accelerated Rehabilitation, which will allow you to be put on probation and have the charges dropped from your record after 13 months, if you don’t commit any additional offenses.
With more serious felony charges, I can dispute the severity of the case and the value of the items stole, and argue that they should be reduced to a point where the penalties are less severe.
Whatever the situation in your exact case, having an experienced attorney fighting for you can make a huge different in the outcome, whether you are working for the best possible plea deal, or taking your case all the way to a jury trial.
Call me to find out how I can help you get through this problem, and get on with your life.
CT Penal Law - Larceny: Sec. 53a-119. Larceny