Charged With Possession of Marijuana in CT?

Get a Free Criminal Defense Legal Case Evaluation

Being charged with a crime in Connecticut is no small thing, and it’s a difficult and stressful thing to go through. I’m sure you don’t think of yourself as an accused criminal, but that’s how the criminal courts in Connecticut see you. And Connecticut marijuana possession laws can still strict, despite decriminalization of less than 1/2 ounce in 2011.

But now it’s happened, and, unfortunately, you have a legal problem to deal with. Whether you were caught with a small personal usage amount of marijuana or even multiple pounds, I can help. I know what you are up against and the kind of legal defense you will need. And an experienced defense lawyer who knows how to fight marijuana possession charges in CT is what you need right now.

If you are like most people and have never faced a criminal charge you are likely quite frightened, and rightfully so. No one wants to pay fines, spend time in jail, or be labeled as a convicted criminal, with a permanent criminal record. The consequences are many and not to be taken lightly.

When it seems as if everyone in the system is out to get you, I can help. I have successfully defended many clients against marijuana charges and want to be able to help you. Call me for a free legal consultation and case evaluation on a marijuana charge in Connecticut.

I know that Connecticut can be particularly harsh on pot charges if you are an out of state college student.

Contact me today to take advantage of my experience. I’ll tell you how I’ve helped other people beat pot charges, and what I think I can do for your case.

Can I Beat a Marijuana Possession Charge?

Yes, there are many legal defense options to fight your case. I can challenge your arrest, and the evidence collected against you on constitutional grounds. You cannot be legally searched without certain due process elements being met.

On a first offense marijuana charge for a small amount of weed, there are a number of possible plea deals to work out that can completely avoid a permanent criminal record. For many people, that is the biggest deal. I don’t want a conviction on my record to screw up any future opportunities, for employers, or anyone else who does a background check.

Possibilities include:

  • nolle plea, or no prosecution in exchange for not getting in any further trouble
  • Accelerated Rehabilitation programs, where you agree to treatment programs
  • Other possible community service options & probation

There are a number of possible options we can discuss to get you through this legal problem. Contact me today to find out exactly what I think would make sense in your situation.

Marijuana Possession Penalties in Connecticut

First Offense Connecticut Marijuana Possession – Penalties

A 1st offense charge of Possession of Marijuana carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

1st Offense Possession of Marijuana Charge 1st Offense Penalties
Under 1/2 oz Infraction
  • up to a $150 fine
1/2 oz to 4 oz Misdemeanor
  • up to 1 year in jail
  • up to a $1000 fine
4oz or more Felony
  • up to 5 years in jail
  • up to a $2000 fine

Second Offense Connecticut Marijuana Possession – Penalties

A 2nd offense charge of Possession of Marijuana is an even more serious felony charge, carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

2nd Offense Possession of Marijuana Charge 2nd Offense Penalties
Under 1/2 oz Infraction
  • up to a $500 fine
1/2 oz to 4 oz Felony
  • up to 5 years in jail
  • up to a $3000 fine
4oz or more Felony
  • up to 10 years in jail
  • up to a $5000 fine

Ref: Conn. Gen. Stat. §21a-279

Yes, it is true that you can be theoretically be sent to prison for a felony offense of barely half an ounces of  weed if it isn’t your first drug offense.

Connecticut Marijuana Distribution/Sale/Cultivation – Laws & Penalties

If the state prosecutor believes they can prove that you were selling the marijuana or if you were caught cultivating or growing marijuana, you can face some much harsher penalties.

First Offense Marijuana Distribution in CT

Less than 1 Kilogram Felony Up to 7 years in prison and fines.
1 Kilogram or more Felony *5-20 years in prison and fines

 

Second or subsequent offense

Less than 1 Kilogram Felony Up to 7 years in prison and fines.
1 Kilogram or more Felony *10-25 years in prison and fines

Ref. Conn. Gen. Stat. §21a-278

*These sentences mean that Connecticut has a mandatory minimum sentence prescribed for these offenses.

In addition to these harsh potential penalties, you could face additional time if the offense was committed on school property or if you attempted to sell to a minor.

Get a Criminal Defense Consultation on your Marijuana Charge in Connecticut – No Obligation!

Regardless of the circumstances I can help and are interested in the specifics of your case. I  want to know what happened, how it happened, and how I can help.

If this is your first offense or if the charge is a minor possession charge I will fight to give you the best chance at a dismissal or increase your chances of getting probation or less serious consequences. But, I cannot help until I hear from you. Call today for a consultation of your case.

– Erin Field, Attorney at Law

(203) 418-8553

Additional References: Connecticut Drug Laws & Policies

Free Legal Consultation

Contact me for a free legal case evaluation on any criminal charge by calling:

image description (203) 418-8553 image description (860) 417-0814

Receive our free legal defense consultation and case evaluation.

Contact Us