© 2017 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Frequently Asked Questions about Connecticut Drunk Driving/DWI/DUI Charges
- What is the legal limit for driving under the influence of alcohol in Connecticut?
- Does Connecticut have additional penalties for DUI/DWI charges with a high BAC result?
- What are the laws for a DUI in Connecticut if you are under 21 years of age?
- Can I get a Work License or Hardship License While My Driver’s License is Under Suspension?
- Will I have to get an interlock device that I have to blow into to start my car?
The legal limit under Connecticut DUI law is .08 BAC (blood alcohol content). Connecticut laws establish that to Operate While Under the Influence (OWI) with a BAC of .08 or higher is “per se” against the law. Simply driving while your blood has over .08% alcohol is illegal. The state doesn’t need to prove that you were impaired or driving unsafely. The number is sufficient to find you guilty of a DUI charge. See my DUI laws & penalties page for more info.
Yes. A high BAC of .16 or above, or twice the legal limit of .08 will result in stricter penalties for refusing to take a breath test/breathalyzer, or other chemical BAC analysis. See my DUI penalties page for details.
If you are under 21, Connecticut has what is called a zero tolerance policy for driving after drinking alcohol. The legal limit for alcohol is .02 BAC, which can be as little as 1 drink. If you are charged with a DUI, your license will be immediately suspended for 90 days for a first offense.
Yes, the Connecticut DMV will issue you a work permit in most cases. It allows you to drive to and from work during a specified 12 hour period. See my work license page.
Probably. Connecticut just passed an interlock bill requiring one of these devices for all 1st time convictions.