© 2017 High Steppin' Searches, Inc.
Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Laws & Penalties
Disorderly Conduct is often charged by the police if they feel you are being disruptive or a nuisance to them. If you happen to annoy the police for any reason, they may arrest you and charge you, regardless of the legitimacy of the facts, and whether or not you were simply exercising your first amendment rights to free speech.
There are many other ways you may be charged with disorderly conduct, such as fighting or other disruptive behavior.
Call me for free legal defense consultation on a disorderly conduct charge in Connecticut. There are excellent defenses and it is usually possible to get the charges dismissed.
Any criminal charge is serious, and having a criminal record can affect you for the rest of your life, so it makes sense to find out if you can fight the charges and get a dismissal, and not have to worry about the future impact of even a minor misdemeanor criminal conviction.
What is Disorderly Conduct?
The penal law of Connecticut describes Disorderly Conduct as:
- intending to cause inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm
- fighting or other violent or disruptive behavior
- making noise or otherwise disturbing the public
- obstructing traffic
- refusing to disperse
- trespassing and viewing another person in their home
CT Disorderly Conduct Penalties
Under Connecticut criminal laws, Disorderly Conduct is a Class C Misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of up to 3 months in jail, and a $500 fine.
How to Beat a Disorderly Conduct Charge in CT
The reasons for the charge vary widely, so there is no single defense I would use. It completely depends on the facts of the case, and what caused the police to arrest you.
Generally though, a disorderly conduct charge is largely a judgment call by the police. I will typically argue that a criminal charge is not warranted for the alleged behavior, and the charges should simply be dropped for lack of evidence of criminal behavior.
If you call me, I’ll be able to go over the specifics of your particular case and tell you what I think the chances are that we can get your case dismissed.
References: CT Penal Law – Disorderly Conduct: Sec. 53a-182.