100% Money Back Promise

If prior to the final offer of settlement by the prosecutor on your case, you are in any way unsatisfied with my representation, I will give you back all of the money you have paid me on your case!

Note: This offer is subject to your obtaining new counsel and having that attorney file their appearance in lieu of my representation.

Connecticut Assault Laws & Penalties

Assault is a very serious charge that can result in substantial jail time depending on the circumstances.

In many cases, an assault charge is the result of a fight where the alleged victim is either the one who called the police, or got the worst of it, regardless of who actually started it.

But when you are facing a serious criminal charge, you need an experienced defense attorney to argue on your behalf, and work to get the charged reduced or dismissed.

And you need to act quickly, before you lose your chance to file motions in court on your behalf. Call today for a legal consultation.

What is Assault?

Under Connecticut criminal law, the crime of Assault is charged at different levels based on the intent of the attack, the level of harm caused, who the victim was, and whether or not a weapon was used.

An assault charge is considered a 1st degree assault (most commonly assault with a deadly weapon), if it involves

  • causing serious injury by means of a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument, or
  • intending to seriously or permanently disfigure a person, or to destroy, amputate, or disfigure a persons body
  • recklessly engaging in behavior that could cause a person’s death, that results in serious physical injury to another person.
  • intent to cause serious physical injury with 2 or more other people participating
  • causing physical injury by use of a gun or firearm

Assault in the 2nd degree is defined as:

  • causing serious injury
  • intent to cause serious injury with a deadly weapon (other than a firearm)
  • recklessly causing serious injury with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
  • intentionally administered a drug or controlled substance without that persons consent

Assault in the 3rd degree is defined as:

  • intentionally causing physical injury
  • recklessly causing serious physical injury
  • with criminal negligence, causing physical serious injury with a deadly weapon

Assault with a motor vehicle is similar to assault with a deadly or dangerous weapon. If you hit someone with your car, or threaten to run them over, you can face this charge. Assault with a vehicle offenses will include a license suspension if you are convicted.

The charge below gives a few examples of some possible penalties. Assessing your situation can get very complicated quickly if there are other charges or prior offenses.

Please call us for a consultation to get a true understanding of what you are likely facing in your specific case.

Connecticut Assault Penalties

Degree Penalty Classification
Assault, first degree
  • Up to 20 years in Prison
  • (5 years minimum)
  • Fines up to $15,000
Class B Felony
Assault, second degree
  • 1 to 5 years in prison
  • Up to a $5000 Fine
Up to $5,000
Assault in the Second Degree with a Firearm
  • 1 year in prison, mandatory minimum, up to 5 years
  • Up to a $5000 Fine
Class D Felony
Assault in the Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle
  • 1 to 5 years in prison
  • Up to a $5000 Fine
  • 1 Year License Suspension
Class D Felony
Assault in the Third Degree
  • Up to 1 year in prison
  • Up to a $2000 fine
Class A Misdemeanor
Assault in the Third Degree with a Weapon
  • 1 year in prison, mandatory minimum
  • Up to a $2000 fine
Class A Misdemeanor

There are additional, enhanced penalties for:

  • Assault on a Pregnant Woman
  • Assault on a Blind Person
  • Assault on a Dept of Correction employee, or prison official

These charges may result in a required or additional 1 year in prison, mandatory.

How to Beat a Connecticut Assault Charge

There are many different ways to successfully win a criminal assault case in court. To get the charges reduced, I will often contest the intent of the accused, or challenge the degree of the injury.

To get a case dismissed, I will argue that the fight was mutual, or that the other person started it and it was self defense.

These cases can be complicated, and how I would actually proceed really depends on the facts of your case. Call for a free consultation, and after reviewing the facts I’ll tell you exactly what I can do to help you.

References: CT Penal Law - Assault: Sec. Sec. 53a-59. Assault

Be Sociable, Share!

Free Legal Consultation

Contact me for a free legal case evaluation on any criminal charge by calling:

image description (203) 418-8553 image description (860) 417-0814

Receive our free legal defense consultation and case evaluation.

Contact Us